Latest News


Minister for Resources, Water and Northern Australia
Member for Hinkler

Assistant Minister for Northern Australia
Member for Capricornia


The Morrison Government has announced the appointment of eight members to the Advisory Group on Northern Australia, including Chair Glenys Schuntner, to help develop a new five-year plan for Northern Australia development.

The Advisory Group will provide expert advice to the Minister for Resources, Water and Northern Australia Keith Pitt and the Ministerial Forum on Northern Development.

Minister Pitt will drive the development of a new five year plan for northern Australia, for the next phase of development under the 2015 White Paper on Our North, Our Future: White Paper on Developing Northern Australia.

“The Coalition Government is committed to building long-term, sustainable economic development and jobs across northern Australia, to build on the 20-year framework outlined in the Our North, Our Future white paper,” Minister Pitt said.

“The Advisory Group is being established at a very important time for the nation, coinciding with the impact of COVID19 here in Australia and around the world.

“Northern Australia, and the many opportunities it provides, will be extremely important to the economic recovery from the Coronavirus impacts and members of the Advisory Group will play a key role in giving high-level advice to the government as we develop the new five-year plan.

“The Group brings a great diversity of expertise and experience on economic development across northern Australia.

“I’m particularly pleased that Glenys Schuntner has agreed to chair the Advisory Group. As the current Chief Executive of Regional Development Australia for Townsville and North Queensland, Ms Schuntner brings solid experience in dealing with a range of stakeholders to deliver positive outcomes for communities across northern Australia.

“I congratulate the members of the Advisory Group on their appointment and look forward to working with them to create a stronger economy, more jobs and an even better lifestyle across northern Australia.”

The members of the Advisory Group on the Northern Australia Agenda are:

• Chair, Ms Glenys Schuntner, CEO of Regional Development Australia Townsville and North Queensland
• The Hon Ian Macfarlane, Chief Executive of Queensland Resources Council
• The Hon Tom Stephens, former WA government minister
• Professor Nick Klomp, Vice-Chancellor and President of CQU (Central Queensland University)
• Professor Allan Dale, Professor of Tropical Regional Development at James Cook University.
• Ms Helen Martin, Managing Director and co-founder of Banubanu eco-retreat
• Ms Angela Tomazos, National Australia Bank Managing Partner for Regional and Agribusiness in the Northern Territory
• Ms Annabelle Coppin, Owner and Manager of Yarrie Station.

Assistant Minister for Northern Australia Michelle Landry said the members have been appointed for 12 months while the new five-year plan for northern Australia is developed.

“The Advisory Group has been appointed on the basis of their individual knowledge and substantial experience,” Minister Landry said.

“Their strength is in their collective background in driving economic growth and positive change across the north.”

Subscribe To My Newsletter

If you want to be kept up to date with what’s happening in the electorate or what I’m doing in Canberra, please subscribe to my newsletter.